What a great weekend! Since River owns a guide service we decided to check out some local bodies of water to see if they would be good for day trips with clients. We found a nearby bog – got the canoe off the top of the car and hoped in! It was a glorious day – the sun was shinning – there was very little wind and both my guys were paddling behind me.

Ready for the trip!

On our way!

I re-learned some paddle strokes, the dufek and the draw, both steering from the front moves, that River taught me last summer. On the paddle into the bog, we saw four beaver houses and a muskrat house, as well as some beaver traps. As we came closer to the bog we could see that ice was still covering most of it, we paddled around the edges using the canoe as an ice breaker in a few places so we could continue our adventure.

The beginning of the trip was a narrow stream...

the stream got wider and opened up to...

the bog - it was beautiful.

Three eagles were way out on the ice, we pulled the boat to shore so we could get a closer look at the eagles, they must have been eating something on the ice. Some ducks made an appearance as well, it was nice to hear them as they flew over the canoe. They must have known it was not hunting season, they did not seem scared of us at all.

River went for the first swim of the season much to Trace's amusement.

Sunday morning we did a little house cleaning (I will admit that our guest room, which is on the way to the attic, collects things that need to go to their proper homes – our skis, skates, sleeping bags, outgrown clothes we are saving in hopes of #2, etc.) and prepared a bunch of items to go to the children’s consignment store.

Then Trace and I went OUT! It was so beautiful outside – I had to change into a short sleeve shirt before long.

I transplanted our blueberries, which have done very poorly where they were, partly because I would forget about them – out of sight, out of mind – and partly because they were not getting enough sun.

Some good old-fashioned horse manure should do the trick as well as a more visible, sunny location. I removed some flowers from the flower beds and planted my blueberries right next to where our square foot gardens will be. I will not be able to forget about them this year. I think they need to be pruned. I should get right on that…. We also measured for the materials that we need to build our raised garden beds – I am so excited about our garden!

We hooked the truck up to some stumps that needed to be removed for more veggie gardens – right in front of the house and next to the steps. I have wanted the shrubs removed for a long time (I thought the shrubs were ugly – they have been there forever!) but did not have the time to do it myself. This was fast and very entertaining for Trace!

The laundry dried completely on the line today – ahhhh spring – there is nothing like the fresh scent of spring on newly washed sheets!

