I just don’t like them. I don’t like pretending to be them – I don’t like the shows, cartoons, books or movies – I can not seem to get into them at all.

My son loves them.

He pretends to be them he wants me to pretend to be them, to have zowards or what ever it is that they have and run around out side like a crazy person fighting the bad guys.

I can’t do it.

I have tried and it is horrible.

I last about two minutes.

It makes me want to cry.

I feel like an inadequate parent.

One of my friends will actually wear a pink power ranger costume and chase the bad guys for hours, Trace’s dad will do the same thing (minus the pink costume).

I willingly play games, read books, bake cookies, cook, play basketball, color, paint and set up train tracks (although running the train along the track and pretending to be Thomas the Tank Engine is beyond my play capabilities).

Am I the only one that feels that I am depriving my son of this interaction with my lack of interest in certain play genres?

Should I try to peek my interest or should I concentrate on what I am good at – snuggles and books – and let Trace play the other things by himself?

Why does it make me feel so lonely to see him playing alone?

It is good for children to entertain themselves right?

