I bought a really nice couch about 10 years ago, I can’t remember if it was from Crate & Barrel or Pottery Barn at this point – but I saw it I fell in love with it and paid way too much for it even though it was on sale.

Half the cushions are missing – but you get the idea – a large sectional – that is the old living room by the way.

When we were building our new space, River built-in a couch frame and we reused the couch cushions – reduce, reuse, recycle. My plan is to eventually recover them in a pretty dark brown – but for right now they are a faded (very faded) blue jean color – honestly – they look kind of ugly.

The down cushions are very comfortable.

But they are not very practical.

Because they slouch.

Constantly.

NO MATTER WHAT WE DO TO THEM!

Consequently they always look like this:

We end up piling up throw pillows on top of the back to make it comfortable to lean against – which leads to way too many throw pillows in the living room.

This is what is under the throw pillows – so comfortable looking isn’t it.

Isn’t that pretty.

Does anyone have any suggestions for keeping the cushions upright and useful rather than falling down and messy looking? I don’t want to replace them if I don’t have to.

We have thought of a piece of the foam padding put into the back of each cushion to give it some shape – but we aren’t crazy about the off gassing.

