We ate the first greens from our garden the other day and they were delicious! I am so glad we decided to have a garden and I am really glad we went with the square foot gardening plan because there is so much less to weed. Seriously – we barely have to weed. At all. Which has always been my biggest nemeses when I have had small gardens in the past. They turn into weed gardens – great if you are a weed looking to take over the world – not so great if you are a tiny little vegetable trying to grow into food.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We have planted almost everything outside at this point only a couple of things remain in the house as seedlings and they will be planted shortly. We spent about $76 on seeds that should pay for itself many times over in produce – especially if we end up with all the tomatoes we are hoping for! We have 20 tomato plants in the ground with 15 for round two to go in a little later to keep the growing season longer – come on BLT’s and spaghetti sauce! Each plant should produce about 25 tomatoes each – yum, yum, delicious!

River did a great job starting all the plants and keeping it all straight – next year might be my turn for that – yikes – I hope I do as well as he did!

